What is a Theft Crime in Austin?
Committing theft under Texas law means the individual took something that doesn’t belong to him or her, without consent or legal justification to do so. Texas classifies its theft offenses according to the value of the stolen property or services. A theft crime defense attorney from The Law Offices of James Gill, PLLC can help represent those facing theft crime charges and will build a strong defense to help you to get the best possible outcome for your case.
Types of Theft
Various types of theft crimes include the following:
- Armed Robbery
- Credit card theft
- Grand theft
- Identity theft
- Auto theft
- Petty theft
Texas Theft Penalties
The level of punishment, in other words the penalty, for theft will depend on the level of severity of the crime which is correlated with the value of the item that was stolen in the crime committed. The following theft crime penalties are ordered from least to most severe.
Texas Class C Misdemeanor
- Value of Theft – Less than $100.
- Penalty – A fine up to $500. No jail time.
Texas Class B Misdemeanor
- Value of Theft – $50 or more but less than $750, or if the stolen item is an identification card or a driver’s license.
- Penalty – A fine up to $2,000, and/or a possible sentence of up 180 days in Travis County Jail.
Texas Class A Misdemeanor
- Value of Theft – $750 or more but less than $2,500.
- Penalty – A fine up to $4,000, and/or a possible sentence of up 1 year in Travis County Jail.
Texas State Jail Felony
- Value of Theft – $2,500 or more but less than $30,000, or if the stolen property is livestock or a firearm.
- Penalty – A fine up to $10,000, and/or a possible sentence of at least 180 days and up to 2 years in Texas State Jail.
Texas 3rd Degree Felony
- Value of Theft – $30,000 or more but less than $150,000.
- Penalty – A fine up to $10,000, and/or a possible sentence of at least 2 years and up to 10 years in Texas State Jail.
Texas 2nd Degree Felony
- Value of Theft – $150,000 or more but less than $300,000.
- Penalty – A fine up to $10,000, and/or a possible sentence of at least 2 years and up to 20 years in Texas State Jail.
Texas 1st Degree Felony
A first-degree felony theft is for $300,000 or more stolen property in value, and five to 99 years of imprisonment and fines of no more than $10,000 are expected if convicted of this category of crime.
- Value of Theft – $300,000 or more.
- Penalty – A fine up to $10,000, and/or a possible sentence from a minimum of 5 years to life in prison.
Prior Convictions Can Raise the Level of Charge
If someone has a prior conviction for theft, the State can elect to “enhance” the penalty range. If someone has two or more prior convictions, any theft will become a state jail felony despite the value of the theft in that case.
Contact Austin Theft Lawyer James Gill for Legal Defense Help
Call to schedule a Legal Consultation with Theft Crime Charges Defense Attorney James Gill in Austin, Texas.
If you or a loved one are facing a theft charge, it’s important to call and schedule a legal consultation with an experienced Texas defense attorney as soon as possible. The law is very clear on the categories of the crimes, but it may be confusing as to where you fit into the system, and what will be the expected punishment for your alleged criminal action. James Gill has countless years of experience defending those facing these criminal charges in Texas. Call today to schedule a legal consultation at 512-448-4560. The Law Offices of James Gill, PLLC serves all of Austin, Westlake, Kyle, Buda, San Marcos, and the surrounding TX communities.